Glenn Close writes about mental illness in the movies

Flicking through the channels on Austar (not my subscription nor my tv, as I am sadly too poor for such luxuries) I noticed an advert on the W channel for season 2 of Damages. I never really followed the careers of Glenn Close or Ted Danson with any interest, but them tearing up the screen in season 1 made the show one of the most fun legal crime thrillers I have seen in an age.

Better yet, it featured a glimpse of the enticing Timothy Olyphant engaged in some kind of vaguely devious behaviour towards (my compatriot) Rose Byrne. Not only did I have no clue that season 2 was finally on, but Timothy Olyphant was again gracing the small screen in these post-Seth Bullock times! How much I have to catch up on.

Browsing HuffPo, I came across this recently written article by Glenn Close entitled Mental Illness: The Stigma of Silence. She writes about aspects of some of her most notorious characters with great clarity and knowledge. Better yet, she recommends the work of Kay Redfield Jamison, whose memoir An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness is up there with William Styron’s Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness and Andrew Solomon’s longer The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression (whose shorter piece in The New Yorker prior to the publication of was read by Naomi Watts when preparing for her devastating performance in David Lynch’s masterpiece, Mulholland Drive).

Leave a Reply

